Neale Honoured By Hockey Hall Of Fame

Tuesday, 11.06.2013 / 4:40 PM

The Hockey Hall of Fame announced the 2013 recipients of the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award and the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award on Monday, awarding the honors to Buffalo Sabres broadcaster Harry Neale, and to journalist Jay Greenberg, respectively.

Neale, the popular veteran broadcaster and former Detroit Red Wings and Vancouver Canucks coach, was chosen by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association as this year's winner of the Hewitt award in recognition of his contributions to hockey broadcasting. He also wins the award the year after his long-time Sabres broadcast partner, Rick Jeanneret, was honored.

"Harry has entertained millions of hockey fans in the United States and Canada for close to 30 years," Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHL Broadcasters' Association, said. "His unique brand of humor and insight has been memorable. He is extremely worthy of this honor and the NHL Broadcasters' Association applauds him for his great work in all aspects of hockey."

Greenberg was selected by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association as this year's Ferguson award winner, an acknowledgment of his extensive and storied career in sports journalism.

"During the prime of Jay's career he was probably the best NHL beat writer in America," Kevin Allen, President of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, said. "He was both a gifted writer and a thorough reporter. It was a treat to read his NHL coverage."

Greenberg began his career at the Kansas City Star, and developed a large following while covering the Philadelphia Flyers for 14 years. Among many other achievements in his 40-year career, Greenberg wrote multiple books on hockey, and penned popular columns for The Hockey News, the Toronto Sun and the New York Post.

The award presentation will take place November 11 in Toronto, where Neale and Greenberg will be honored at a luncheon presentation.

Author: Connor Mellas | Staff Writer

Back to top ↑