Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
MapleLeafs.com proudly sponsored by ROGERS™ Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com

Leafs Announce Opening Roster

Wednesday, 09.30.2009 / 4:58 PM ET / Press Releases
Share with your Friends

Leafs Announce Opening Roster
Brian Burke, president and general manager of the Toronto Maple Leafs, announced Wednesday the hockey club’s roster to open the 2009-10 regular season.

The Leafs will begin the season with 13 forwards, seven defencemen and two goaltenders.  Phil Kessel and Mike Van Ryn are not included as they are currently injured non roster players.

The following players were assigned to the Toronto Marlies of the American Hockey League today: forwards Tyler Bozak, Nikolai Kulemin and Jiri Tlusty, defenceman Carl Gunnarsson, and goaltender Joey MacDonald.

The Leafs will open the 2009-10 regular season on Thursday night against the Montreal Canadiens at Air Canada Centre.  Game time is 7 p.m.  The game will be televised on CBC’s Hockey Night in Canada and will be heard on the radio home of the Leafs - AM 640.

Jason Blake
Mikhail Grabovski 
Niklas Hagman
Phil Kessel*                  
Jamal Mayers                
John Mitchell                   
Colton Orr                      
Alexei Ponikarovsky        
Wayne Primeau               
Jay Rosehill                   
Viktor Stalberg                
Matt Stajan                    
Lee Stempniak               
Rickard Wallin 


Francois Beauchemin     
Garnet Exelby        
Jeff Finger                    
Tomas Kaberle               
Mike Komisarek              
Luke Schenn                   
Mike Van Ryn*                
Ian White


Vesa Toskala
Jonas Gustavsson

* Injured non-roster players

torontomapleleafs.com is the official Web site of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club. The Maple Leafs and mapleleafs.com are trademarks of MLSE.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 MLSE and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Terms Of Use | Contact Us | Employment Opportunities | Advertise on mapleleafs.com | Privacy Policy | icon AdChoices | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map