Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
MapleLeafs.com proudly sponsored by ROGERS™ Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
  • RSS

Matt Frattin Named Top Player In WCHA

Friday, 03.11.2011 / 11:41 AM ET / News
Share with your Friends

Matt Frattin Named Top Player In WCHA
Related: Frattin Hobey Baker Nominee | Frattin Found Right Path | Gardiner Still Developing

GRAND FORKS, N.D. - North Dakota's Matt Frattin has been named Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) Player of the Year.

Fratin was also named to the All-WCHA first team.

Frattin won the WCHA scoring title with 40 points (22 goals, 18 assists) in 28 league games, becoming UND's first scoring champion since Ryan Duncan in 2006-07. Frattin's 40 points during league play were the most by a Fighting Sioux since Jeff Panzer (49 points) and Bryan Lundbohm (40) in 2000-01.

Frattin enters the WCHA playoffs tied for the NCAA goal-scoring lead with 29. In 37 games this season, the Edmonton, Alberta, native leads the top-ranked Sioux in points (49), goals (29), power-play goals (nine), game-winning goals (four) and shorthanded goals (two). He is currently in the midst of his second nine-game point streak of the season, and earlier in the year he produced an eight-game goal-scoring streak that was the fourth-longest in school history.

Three different conference-member teams – North Dakota, Minnesota Duluth and Wisconsin – are represented on the All-WCHA First Team for 2010-11.

Named to the All-WCHA First Team (statistics are league games only) were: F – Matt Frattin, Sr., North Dakota (28 gp, 22-18=40); F - Jack Connolly, Jr., Minnesota Duluth (28 gp, 9-28=37); F – Mike Connolly, Jr., Minnesota Duluth (28 gp, 19-15=34); D – Justin Schultz, So., Wisconsin (28 gp, 10-19=29); D – Chay Genoway, Sr., North Dakota (20 gp, 5-14=19); G – Aaron Dell, So., North Dakota (19-4-1, 1.97 gaa, .912 sv%).

Members of the 2010-11 All-WCHA Second Team are: F – Jason Zucker, Fr., Denver (28 gp, 20-16=36); F – Drew Shore, So., Denver (28 gp, 15-19=34): F – Justin Fontaine, Sr., Minnesota Duluth (28 gp, 14-18=32); D – Jake Gardiner, Jr., Wisconsin (28 gp, 5-18=23); D – Matt Donovan, So., Denver (28 gp, 4-17=21); G – Kent Patterson, Jr., Minnesota (13-5-5, 2.31 gaa, .926 sv%).

Voted to the All-WCHA Third Team for 2010-11 were: F – Jason Gregoire, Jr., North Dakota (24 gp, 18-13=31); F – Jaden Schwartz, Fr., Colorado College (17 gp, 10-15=25); F – Drew LeBlanc, Jr., St. Cloud State (28 gp, 11-17=28); D – Kurt Davis, Sr., Minnesota State (28 gp, 5-14=19); D – Justin Faulk, Fr., Minnesota Duluth (28 gp, 6-15=21); G – John Faulkner, So., Nebraska Omaha (16-9-2, 2.54 gaa, .910 sv%).

torontomapleleafs.com is the official Web site of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club. The Maple Leafs and mapleleafs.com are trademarks of MLSE.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 MLSE and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Terms Of Use | Contact Us | Employment Opportunities | Advertise on mapleleafs.com | Privacy Policy | icon AdChoices | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map