Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
MapleLeafs.com proudly sponsored by ROGERS™ Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
  • RSS

Scrivens Wins AHL's Holmes Memorial Award

Monday, 04.16.2012 / 9:42 AM ET / News
Share with your Friends

Scrivens Wins AHL\'s Holmes Memorial Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. -- The American Hockey League announced today that Ben Scrivens of the Toronto Marlies is the recipient of the Harry “Hap” Holmes Memorial Award for the 2011-12 season. Since 1972, the award has been presented to the goaltender(s) with at least 25 games played on the team which allows the fewest goals in the regular season.
Toronto surrendered a league-low 175 goals in 2011-12, finishing its regular season on Sunday afternoon with a record of 44-24-5-3 and 96 points – the second-best finish in franchise history. Under the guidance of head coach Dallas Eakins, the North Division champions will be the second seed in the Western Conference in the 2012 Calder Cup Playoffs.

In his second professional season, Scrivens posted a 22-15-1 record and four shutouts in 39 appearances for the Marlies, leading the AHL with a 2.04 goals-against average and ranking fifth with a .926 save percentage. Scrivens also made his National Hockey League debut with the Toronto Maple Leafs in 2011-12, going 4-5-2 in 12 outings.

Also contributing to the Marlies’ goaltending success in 2011-12 were Jussi Rynnas, who went 11-9-1 (2.55, .910) with three shutouts in 22 games, and Mark Owuya, who was 11-5-1 (1.94, .929) with two shutouts in 19 games.

The Harry “Hap” Holmes Memorial Award, which was first awarded in 1948 to the goaltender with the best goals-against average in the AHL, is named for Hockey Hall of Famer Harry “Hap” Holmes, a prominent figure in early professional hockey and an outstanding goaltender of his time. Previous winners or co-winners of the award include Gil Mayer (1951, ’53, ’54, ’55, ’56), Johnny Bower (1957, ’58), Marcel Paille (1961, ’62), Gerry Cheevers (1965), Gilles Villemure (1969, ’70), Pete Peeters (1979), Pelle Lindbergh (1981), Olaf Kolzig (1994), Mike Dunham (1995), Manny Legace (1996), Jean-Sebastien Giguere (1998), Martin Biron (1999), Joey MacDonald (2003), Jason LaBarbera (2005, 2007), Dany Sabourin (2006), Cory Schneider (2009), Cedrick Desjardins (2010), Curtis Sanford (2010) and Brad Thiessen (2011).

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 85 percent of all players competing in the NHL are AHL graduates, and through the years the American Hockey League has been home to more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame. Sixteen clubs will continue to vie for the league’s coveted championship trophy when the 2012 Calder Cup Playoffs get under way on Thursday.

For Marlies playoff ticket information, visit marlies.ca or call the team’s ticket line at 416-597-PUCK.

torontomapleleafs.com is the official Web site of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club. The Maple Leafs and mapleleafs.com are trademarks of MLSE.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 MLSE and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Terms Of Use | Contact Us | Employment Opportunities | Advertise on mapleleafs.com | Privacy Policy | icon AdChoices | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map