Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
MapleLeafs.com proudly sponsored by ROGERS™ Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
  • RSS

Leafs Announce Coaches For Alumni Showdown

Thursday, 07.26.2012 / 12:00 PM ET / News
Toronto Maple Leafs
Share with your Friends

Leafs Announce Coaches For Alumni Showdown

The Detroit Red Wings® and Toronto Maple Leafs® today announced that former Detroit coaches Scotty Bowman and Barry Smith will be behind the bench against former Toronto coaches Red Kelly and Pat Quinn at the 2012 Maple Leafs vs. Red Wings Alumni Showdown™ on December 31 at Comerica Park™, part of the 2012 SiriusXM Hockeytown Winter Festival™.

The winningest bench boss in NHL history with 1,244 career victories, Bowman has been a part of 12 Stanley Cup-winning teams, including a league-record nine as a head coach. Bowman helped direct the Red Wings to three Cup titles (1997, 1998 & 2002) and retired from coaching while skating with the Cup following Detroit’s 10th Stanley Cup in 2002. Smith was with the Red Wings from 1994-2005 and was part of three Stanley Cup championship teams with Detroit following two titles as an assistant with the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Red Kelly, the eight-time Stanley Cup winner and first James Norris Memorial Trophy recipient, coached Toronto to four consecutive playoff appearances from 1973 to 1977. He will join forces with the NHL’s fourth winningest coach and two-time Jack Adams Award winner Pat Quinn, who also led Team Canada to back-to-back world titles with a gold medal in the 2002 Olympics followed by the 2004 World Cup of Hockey.

Player thus far announced for Detroit’s roster include 50-goal scorers Mickey Redmond and John Ogrodnick; Hall of Famers Luc Robitaille, Dino Ciccarelli, Chris Chelios, Larry Murphy and Mark Howe; all four members of ‘The Grind Line’ – Kris Draper, Kirk Maltby, Darren McCarty and Joe Kocur; Stanley Cup-winning goaltenders Chris Osgood and Mike Vernon; and Red Wings legends Ted Lindsay and Alex Delvecchio.

Members of the Toronto Maple Leafs® alumni currently scheduled to participate on New Year’s Eve at Comerica Park™ include: Hockey Hall of Famer Darryl Sittler; 50-goal scorer Rick Vaive; fan favorites Darcy Tucker, Felix Potvin, Mike Palmateer and Kevin Maguire; Stanley Cup champions Dave Andreychuk and Doug Gilmour; rough-and-tumble winger Wendel Clark; 454-win goaltender Curtis Joseph; and Maple Leafs® legends Johnny Bower, Ron Ellis and Jim McKenny.

Further alumni will be announced in the coming weeks.

A limited number of 2012 Maple Leafs vs. Red Wings Alumni Showdown™ tickets will be made available in mid-August via ticket lottery. 2012 SiriusXM Hockeytown Winter Festival™ GLI, AHL and OHL tickets will go on sale in late August at DetroitRedWings.com, ticketmaster.com or by calling 313-396-7575. Fans should register at DetroitRedWings.com/2013winterclassic to receive all the latest information on these events.

2013 Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic® tickets are currently available for Red Wings® and Maple Leafs® season ticket holders as part of a pre-sale process. Additional ticket information will be released at a later date. Fans should register at DetroitRedWings.com/2013winterclassic to receive all the latest ticket information

torontomapleleafs.com is the official Web site of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club. The Maple Leafs and mapleleafs.com are trademarks of MLSE.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 MLSE and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Terms Of Use | Contact Us | Employment Opportunities | Advertise on mapleleafs.com | Privacy Policy | icon AdChoices | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map