Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
MapleLeafs.com proudly sponsored by ROGERS™ Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
Toronto
Maple Leafs
34-35-13
San Jose
Sharks
53-18-11

game preview

Maple Leafs-Sharks Preview

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:47 AM

Associated Press

Share with your Friends


Maple Leafs-Sharks Preview
Toronto Maple Leafs vs. San Jose Sharks

Although Ron Wilson had a successful tenure in five seasons as coach of the San Jose Sharks, it's hard to argue that the team made a mistake letting him go earlier this year.

Wilson returns to San Jose for the first time as coach of the Toronto Maple Leafs on Tuesday night as the league-leading Sharks seek their eighth straight victory.

Hired by San Jose in December 2002, Wilson guided the Sharks to a 206-134-38 record with 19 ties in four-plus seasons with the club. He surpassed Darryl Sutter as the franchise's all-time wins leader on March 1.

Under Wilson, the Sharks were the only team to have won at least one playoff series in each of the last four years. San Jose advanced to the Western Conference final for the first time in 2004, and won Pacific Division titles in 2004 and 2008 under Wilson's guidance.

Another outstanding regular season in 2007-08 made the Sharks a favorite to reach their first Stanley Cup finals, but San Jose was eliminated in the second round for the third consecutive season - this time by Dallas. That latest playoff failure marked the end for Wilson, who was fired on May 12 after his team was ousted by a lower-seeded opponent for the third time in four postseasons.

"In most ways I was shocked when Doug (Wilson) told me, but in some ways I guess I was not surprised," Ron Wilson said of his firing. "When it happens when you don't expect it, you're disappointed.

I can honestly say that I couldn't be prouder of my work here. I think our team's record speaks for itself. Obviously we didn't win a Stanley Cup while I was here. I'm disappointed in that as any coach would be."

Wilson wasn't out of work long. The Maple Leafs (9-9-6) made him the 27th coach in team history on June 10, hoping he could reverse the fortunes of a team that has missed the playoffs each of the last three seasons.

The Leafs ended a five-game winless streak with a 4-2 victory over Philadelphia on Saturday, and got power-play goals from Matt Stajan and Mikhail Grabovski less than 1 1/2 minutes apart early in the third period of a 3-1 victory at Los Angeles on Monday.

Toronto - which will now seek its first three-game winning streak since March 18-22 - received another strong performance in net Monday from former Shark Vesa Toskala, who has allowed four goals over his last three starts.

"Vesa obviously made some huge saves," Wilson said. "He was just as sharp as he was the two previous games. And with goaltending like that, you have a really good chance to win."

While he will ultimately be judged on his team's playoff performance, first-year coach Todd McLellan has been everything the Sharks could have hoped for when he was hired on June 12.

San Jose (20-3-1) owns the league's best record and has been near perfect at home, going 12-0-1.

On Saturday, the Sharks rallied from an early two-goal deficit for their seventh straight victory, 3-2 at Phoenix.

"It's a combination of skill and we've got some grit with that skill," McLellan said. "The players are pulling in the same direction, they believe in what we set out to do in training camp, and they're getting results so their confidence is growing as we go."

San Jose has outscored opponents 35-15 during the seven-game streak, its second this season.

Nabokov has a win and a tie in two career games against Toronto. He made 23 saves in a 3-2 home victory over the Leafs on Jan. 12.

San Jose is 2-0-2 in its last four meetings with Toronto.

2008-2009 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Dec 02 '08 TOR 2 at SJS 5 D. Boyle
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
M. Stajan2471421-31250
N. Antropov2591019-11022
N. Hagman2581119+5240
M. Grabovski2510818+01631
A. Ponikarovsky2561016+21621
L. Stempniak1941216-4401
T. Kaberle2521315-7410
N. Kulemin255611+0211
D. Moore255611-32911
P. Kubina255611-82921
J. Blake213710-21010
M. Van Ryn14358+1620
I. White14347+4700
J. Mitchell20257-8400
J. Finger18246+21500
A. Stralman18156+2601
A. Steen20224-4610
J. Mayers24134-104200
L. Schenn25022-62600
R. Hollweg14022-63100
C. Colaiacovo10011-2600
J. Frogren10011-5600
J. Tlusty9000-2000
A. Deveaux4000+1500
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
V. Toskala229-7-5675973.12.888
C. Joseph60-3-1151013.95.851
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Thornton2572330+102641
D. Setoguchi25131629+14222
P. Marleau25111728+14412
R. Clowe25111223+62561
J. Pavelski25111122+4231
D. Boyle2491322+92443
R. Blake2551621+75030
M. Michalek2371017+2822
C. Ehrhoff2521416+62410
M. Vlasic2531114+111010
M. Grier233710+61701
J. Cheechoo19448+11421
T. Plihal21336+0801
J. Roenick25156+11800
B. Lukowich24055+8600
M. Goc17134-21401
J. McGinn5213+2001
J. Shelley24112-14401
L. Kaspar6101-1401
B. Staubitz9011+12500
A. Semenov8011+11000
D. Murray20000+2900
R. Armstrong2000-1200
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
E. Nabokov1614-2-0414072.54.899
B. Boucher97-1-1172361.89.928
torontomapleleafs.com is the official Web site of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club. The Maple Leafs and mapleleafs.com are trademarks of MLSE.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 MLSE and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.


Terms Of Use | Contact Us | Employment Opportunities | Advertise on mapleleafs.com | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map