Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
MapleLeafs.com proudly sponsored by ROGERS™ Welcome to the Official Site of Leafs Nation - MapleLeafs.com
Calgary
Flames
41-29-12
Toronto
Maple Leafs
37-34-11
SO
33 SOG
33 SOG
1st2nd3rdOTsoT
CGY ()
TOR ()
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (38)
game preview

Flames Continue Trip With Stop In Toronto

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:47 AM

NHL.com

Share with your Friends


Flames Continue Trip With Stop In Toronto
Calgary Flames vs. Toronto Maple Leafs

 
RELATED: Reimer Assigned To Marlies | Henny's Headlines
VIDEO: Henny & Big Daddy Preview | Wilson | Giguere | Bozak | Versteeg | Mueller | MacArthur
DISCUSS IT ON:  Leafspace  |  Twitter  |  Facebook

FLAMES (19-20-5) at MAPLE LEAFS (18-21-4)

TV -- CBC (HD)

Last 10 -- Calgary 5-3-2; Toronto 6-4-0

Season series -- The Canadian rivals are meeting for the second and last time this season. The Flames won 5-2 in Calgary on Dec. 16 and have won the last three games between the teams.

Big story -- It's the third game of a four-game trip for the Flames, who come to Toronto with some smiles after ending a four-game losing streak with a 3-2 win at Ottawa on Friday. The Leafs are back home after a disappointing end to what had been a superb road trip -- after wins at Atlanta, Los Angeles and San Jose, they missed out on a sweep when they lost 5-1 at Phoenix on Thursday night.

Team Scope:

Flames -- Unfortunately for forward David Moss, this game is not being played in Ottawa. Moss continued his superb scoring at Scotiabank Place by getting the first two goals in Calgary's 3-2 win on Friday. In his only other visit to Ottawa, he had a hat trick three years ago.

"I've only played here twice, but it's a good feeling," Moss said. "It was a big win for us. We need the points."

Maple Leafs -- The Leafs were in good position to come home with a sweep of their four-game trip -- they trailed just 1-0 after two periods at Phoenix and had scored four times in the third period in their previous game at San Jose. Instead, the Coyotes put the game away with four goals in the final 20 minutes.


One player who was absolved by coach Ron Wilson was rookie goalie James Reimer, who had won the first three games on the trip.

"It wasn't James' fault," he said. "I thought we actually played a really good game. We had a number of scoring chances where often we missed the net. I think we were trying to be too fine with our shots ... I thought we played well. It slipped out of our hands a little bit in the third period but again I'm not disappointed at all and you can't fault James one bit."

Despite that endorsement, Reimer went back to the AHL Toronto Marlies on Friday.

Who's hot -- Calgary fourth-liner Tim Jackman had an assist on Friday and has seven points in his last seven games. Moss has a pair of two-goal performances in his last five games. … Despite being blanked at Phoenix, Toronto's Phil Kessel has goals in four of his last five games.

Injury report -- Calgary defenseman Robyn Regehr sat out Friday with an injured leg, while Steve Staios is still out with a rib injury. Toronto goaltender Jean-Sebastien Giguere dressed Thursday for the first time since going down with a groin injury four weeks earlier and could play Saturday. Forward Kris Versteeg missed Thursday's game with an upper-body injury. Another forward, Mike Brown, will sit out the first of a three-game suspension for his hit on Coyotes defenseman Ed Jovanovski in Thursday's game.

Stat pack -- Flames captain Jarome Iginla has a six-game points streak against the Leafs, scoring 5 goals and adding 8 assists during that span. … Calgary goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff sat out Friday after allowing 11 goals on 56 shots in his previous three games.

Puck drop -- Dion Phaneuf's return to Calgary was the big story when the Leafs came West in December. Saturday's game will mark the return to Toronto of two of the key pieces the Flames received in the deal -- Niklas Hagman and Matt Stajan.

Both are primed for their return to the Air Canada Centre.

"Obviously, I wanted to win, too. I wanted to play well against my old team and show them that I can still play," said Hagman, who scored 42 goals in 120 games as a Leaf.F

2010-2011 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Jan 15 '11CGY 2 at TOR 1 - SOO. Jokinen
Dec 16 '10TOR 2 at CGY 5O. Jokinen
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Iginla45182240-93053
A. Tanguay45102232-31600
R. Bourque43141327-92624
O. Jokinen4281624-123241
M. Giordano4541822-84021
N. Hagman4491221-22040
A. Babchuk4561521+02241
B. Morrison4551621+11610
M. Stajan3931720+81400
C. Glencross4210717+44410
J. Bouwmeester4541115+42811
D. Moss328513+51211
T. Jackman456713+17001
M. Backlund37459+31000
T. Kostopoulos42448-15410
C. Sarich39178+63500
I. White16246-10610
R. Regehr42055+83200
A. Pardy20033+42000
C. Conroy18202-1801
A. Kotalik17202-6612
S. Staios15112-12000
B. Mikkelson22022-6700
S. Meyer16022+01700
B. Sutter4011-1500
T. Brodie3000-3200
R. Ivanans1000-1500
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
M. Kiprusoff3717-17-29810092.68.903
H. Karlsson103-3-3232452.57.906
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
C. MacArthur44142337+12662
M. Grabovski43181735+63271
N. Kulemin44161733+21844
P. Kessel44191231-161063
K. Versteeg41121931-112550
T. Kaberle4412829-3201
T. Bozak4471118-11641
C. Armstrong286612-31900
F. Beauchemin441910-31400
L. Schenn44279-32100
M. Komisarek40189-24400
D. Phaneuf28178-44200
T. Brent43336-71100
C. Gunnarsson33246-1201
N. Kadri17066-4600
J. Crabb12066+11000
D. Boyce9235+3400
F. Sjostrom41134-7600
J. Mitchell23213-71211
M. Brown23123+03600
C. Orr44202-110401
B. Lebda22011-19800
M. Zigomanis8011+0400
K. Aulie12000-5200
L. Caputi7000-2400
J. Rosehill4000-21400
C. Hanson3000+0200
K. Holzer2000-1200
M. Mueller1000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Giguere198-7-3494872.69.899
J. Gustavsson226-12-2625953.13.896
J. Reimer74-2-0142082.26.933
torontomapleleafs.com is the official Web site of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club. The Maple Leafs and mapleleafs.com are trademarks of MLSE.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 MLSE and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.


Terms Of Use | Contact Us | Employment Opportunities | Advertise on mapleleafs.com | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map